Restaurant Reviews

shrimpsteak e1305124386411 Restaurant Reviews

We all talk to each other online, in forums, on Facebook, on TripAdvisor, and through various blogs. We are inundated with one liners: “service was great”, “the service sucked,” “I’ve been there three times and would definitely go back,” “I’ll never go back.” Friends and family can easily paint a rosy picture on TripAdvisor. Conversely, competition and disgruntled employees can quickly post malicious comments. In fact there’s a company, reputation.com, that manipulates, the manipulators. “Our patented technology drives good results up and bad results down to secondary pages on Google, where almost no one ever looks” their ad claims.
Is a restaurant review section even valid anymore? On this information superhighway which exit do you take to find a decent meal? Do you go with the one liners, or do you go with a balanced review by residents who frequent their neighbour restaurants often? Every single restaurant has its ups and downs; it’s a tricky business juggling chefs, wait staff, customers, delivering a consistent product, and keeping an eagle eye on the bottom line. Below are reviews (sorted by date) of new and established restaurants. If you visit the section Bites and Pieces, these are a group of restaurants that MazatlanLife keeps returning to – some over 50 times. We hope you enjoy this balanced selection.
Reminder, all prices are in pesos and all meals are paid for by MazatlanLife.

Restaurants reviewed, just scroll down: Two words about Morena’s, Angelina’s Latin Kitchen;  Surf’sUp, Water’s Edge Bistro,  Las Brochetas, Tacotorro, Ocean Grill,  Krema rises at The Culinary Market, Wine by the glass; El Presidio, La Rosa de las Barras,  Angelina’s Latin Kitchen (meet the chef), Mi Casita Pizzeria,  Raggio, cucina casual,  Villa Italia, Casa Canobbio,  El Aljibe de S. Pedro,  Topolo,  La Bohemia,  Social Cafe and Lounge,  Casa Loma, Los Delfines, Tony’s Burgers, El Bife, La Corriente, Rosso Nero.

Two words about Morena’s urban-resto-bar

By Sheila Madsen (April 2014)

Warren and Courtney Restaurant ReviewsButter chicken. Yep, that’s the reason to go. Butter chicken (or murgh makhani) is a divine blend of chicken (thigh, off –the- bone) marinated in a bunch of Indian spices which could be: garam masala, ginger, lime, pepper, coriander, cumin, turmeric and chili. The marinated chicken is then cooked together in a traditional ‘tomato gravy’ which could include: fresh tomatoes, garlic, cardamom, butter, asafetida, cumin cloves, cinnamon, fenugreek and fresh cream. Chef Courtney Hitchings is not revealing her butter chicken secrets as she inherited the recipe from her father who owned The Taj Mahal restaurant in Calgary. She’s following tradition by offering a baseline of mild and then she’ll add spices to match your taste buds. I like a little kick, others like to blow their heads off – Courtney will accommodate everyone’s range. It’s a generous portion (some people would share) and it comes with rice and a fresh, crispy salad, $150. Morena’s has elegant stemware and serves a great wine pour for $50 (Sol de Chile).
Oh, there are other items on the menu and friends have all praised: samosas (chicken, beef, vegetarian) $30 each; triple threat wings, $150; beef Souvlaki $150; Tandoori grilled salmon, $185; Caribbean curry chicken, $130, spicy Thai shrimp curry, $150; fresh oysters on the weekend, $125.
Courtney will spend the summer creating delicious dishes such as lamb korma and chicken tikka. Her father is bringing a tandoori oven and you know what that means – naan, glorious naan!-that you can’t stop dunking in your butter chicken or curry sauce. Chef is also perfecting many more vegetarian dishes. Courtney’s husband Warren Wray, (from Jamaica via Toronto) is working the front of the house and the service is zipping along. No one is complaining about wait times, those were simply growing pains and those days belong firmly in the past.

The décor is a little dark but there’s no point in discussing that. That’s all being refreshed too. Just watch this little Taj Mahal in Centro grow and become a shrine for Indian food lovers.

(Morena’s Urban-Resto Bar, Sixto Osuna # 26, closed Mondays, open at 5 p.m. Reservations recommended, 176 7085, phone is answered after 5 p.m. pesos only. For those of you who may visit the Calgary Taj Mahal Courtney and Warren wish you a happy experience, they just want you to know their dad no longer owns it. )

 

 

BC Marks reviews the healthy choices available at Angelina’s Latin Kitchen: double-decker portobello burger with salad, $95; Cuban salad, $65; most egg dishes, $70; gluten-free pancakes or waffles, $75; fruit plate, $60. Angelina’s is closed Mondays and opens at 8 a.m. Jan. 2014.

What’s up with Surf’s Up? Everything is up and upbeat!

By Sheila Madsen, December 2013

I’m probably the last woman standing who has not been to the beautiful beachfront café, Surf’s Up. Before you go, please do two things: make a reservation and let Leanne Wright (owner, chef) know of any food allergies you have. Give her the time and she’ll make you gluten-free empanadas as she did for me. My first empanada ever! She’s a micro-manager too. I overheard her briefing her staff on various tables and who likes what and when and how. She cares about us, she really, really cares about us.

 Restaurant Reviews

If you read my lead-in to restaurant reviews you’ll understand I don’t really believe in them. That shipped has sailed with social networking; think of this article as a FB post, just one of many opinions that you can choose to disregard! I was spoiled living in such a diverse restaurant city as Toronto. Friends began conversations about dinner with the country: Thai, Caribbean, Indian, French, Ethiopian, Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, Greek, Italian, Spanish, Polish, German, Danish, Middle Eastern, Canadian or Fusion then you nailed the location and time. All of our kitchen drawers were stuffed with take-out menus of every imaginable cuisine. Obviously that selection is not possible here in Mazatlan, so my eyes popped out as I inhaled the different flavours on Leann’s Caribbean Tapas Menu. At $40 per item, our trio was in a frisky mood and said “what the hell, let’s order all ten.” Big deal, a total of $400 and you get one taste sensation after another.

Here are Leanne’s descriptions: #1 Panamanian Beef Empanadas – baked in the oven this sweet dough is a pocket of goodness with a savory beef filling with onions, peppers, and cilantro inside, served with chipotle aioli; #2 Caribbean Beef Patties – a delicious curry-flavoured beef pasty, made with chives, thyme and chili peppers, served with sweet chutney; #3 Garden Groove – cool citrus gazpacho salad with grapefruit, oranges, tomatoes, peppers, cucumber, red onions, cilantro, garlic tossed in a zesty sweet and spicy dressing; #4 The Bourb – smoky bourbon glazed pork with pineapple that has been slowly roasted to tender perfection; # 5 Jamaican Me Crazy Jerk Chicken Skewers – chicken marinated in a spicy jerk season and lime juice, serve with curry yogurt sauce; # 6 Coconut Chicken Curry – Caribbean blend of curry spices with coconut milk served over rice; #7 Leanne’s Surfin’ Salad – mixed green with onions, peppers, carrots, raisins, almonds and homemade kiwi dressing; #8 One Love – (chimichanga) rolled flour tortillas stuffed with a mix of chorizo sausage, beef, onions, peppers and lightly fried, topped with chipotle aioli; #9 Zion Roots – homemade mac and cheese bites lightly deep fried; #10 Papas – they were the size of a smart phone and just beat out Morena’s for the best potato wedges in Mazatlan.

surfs Restaurant Reviews

Vegetarians won’t care but our favourites were the #4, The Bour (oh, that tender pork!), #6 Coconut Chicken Curry (Thai meets the Caribbean), # 8 One Love.

All of this tasty tapas happens on Saturdays. Sit in the shade (or in the sun) watch the waves roll in and listen to the ten piece band, Rootsterford, entertain you with the best reggae music. There is a cover charge for Rootsterford of $80 but it includes one drink. Ten piece band, live music, a free drink, $80 is a bargain for that level of professional music. Have a listen. Surf’s Up does serve breakfast and lunch too from Wednesday to Sunday, as the café also caters to the four room B&B, El Sol La Vida. Everything is up and upbeat at Surf’s Up.

(Surf’s Up Beach Café/El Sol La Vida are located on Avenida Ernesto Coppel #52 – go past Emerald Bay, veer right and you’ll hit a dirt road which will take you to Surf’s Up, call: 988 0951 or e mail Leanne Wright at: surfsupmazaltan@gmail.com. Handicap accessible, major credit cards accepted (just not American Express),  now open all summer long.)

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Water’s Edge Bistro, less is more

By Sheila Madsen and her three amigos, November 2013

I didn’t like Water’s Edge. I loved it. Everything is just right. The new location on Sixto Osuna is a series of four intimate and gracious rooms. The front of the house is a bar plus an area to dine, walk on through to a middle room with large windows, or dine outdoors in the courtyard. The Chef’s table is the fourth room – it seats 12, and sumptuous curtains are quietly drawn for your private dinner. Mark Jay, interior designer, likes to describe the space as Tuscan modern. He’s probably right, but I felt the rooms flowed into one another, smooth as silk with tiny details everywhere – nothing distracting, no big aha moment, all subtle and well, elegant. He nailed the most difficult design challenge in any restaurant – the lighting. All four of us relaxed in the soft atmosphere and took our time over the dinner menu. It’s an exciting array of choices.

The menu is well written and each item is perfectly described. My comments will add nothing to Chef Alastair’s creations; the aha moments come with all chef’s flavourful twists and turns. We had amaranto pork ($80), crab cake ($80), vegetarian ravioli ($140) and jumbo shrimp ($200) and beef fillet ($200). For instance, the amaranto pork on the menu said: grilled tenderloin of pork dressed with composed sauce of pecans, pumpkin, and amaranto seeds served with grilled zucchini and banana. Sound good? It tasted even better. All five dishes exceeded their descriptions. All four of us appreciated the portions. Some people have said they are too small, we disagree. Less is more.

The wait staff is friendly yet inconspicuous (you didn’t feel as if they were hovering about, or texting), wine was poured in a timely manner and the food arrived hot and simultaneously. There are daily specials to keep your taste buds tantalized; perhaps one evening you’ll be in the mood for a seat at the bar, or move into middle earth, or enjoy the patio. Water’s Edge Bistro is like a river of silk – it just flows along, oh so quietly.

(Water’s Edge Bistro is on Sixto Osuna #48, closed Mondays, open from noon on, reservations recommended, 669 136 0895)

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews
 
Las Brochetas is open every day from 2 p.m. until 11 p.m. On Rafael Buelna #1000, opposite Mega. Most people choose the sirloin brochette ($105-$120), however Chef Héctor recommends the cabreria steak ($145), tender, full of flavour. Other items on the menu include: bbq ribs ($135); bbq chicken ($115); arrachera molcajete ($140), T-bone and New York ($175); rib eye ($195); plus fajitas, hamburgers, tacos, and quesadillas. A dozen people we know have had the cabreria in past month and they all agree with Chef – quality is consistent.


Pepe has owned Cotorro (parrot) but everyone refers to his restaurant as Tacotorro for 14 years. All the vegetables are washed in an anti-bacteria solution, and the entire kitchen is disinfected. There are two sparkling clean baños, and a playground for children. It’s located on Rafael Buelna #208 (beside the Dodge dealership) and Tacotorro is open every day from 6 p.m. until 1 p.m. except on Fridays and Saturdays – Pepe stays open until 4 a.m.! This family owned restaurant keeps customers returning because it simply serves the best sirloin tacos, everyone says so, including Chef Héctor Peniche – who can be a bit of a snob – but not when it comes to Tacotorro.

 

Ocean Grill – a splendid balance of price and quality

(By Sheila Madsen and liked by eight others. This began like most evenings, my husband, Soren, and I trying a new restaurant. We had just received our mains when three friends walked in. Naturally we shared a table, food and opinions. I came home to an e mail from another friend who had been at Ocean Grill for lunch, that’s eight people in one week for a restaurant that’s only been open for two weeks. We are starving for new foods in Mazatlan! Below, I’ve woven their comments into this write-up; it’s a mix of Mexicans and expats. October, 2013)

DSCN1284 2 Restaurant Reviews

The welcome mat is out at Ocean Grill like a red carpet greeting. No one asks me “who are you wearing?” but doors are opened by smiling staff, and Miguel immediately rushes over to greet us and says “where have you been?” We barely sat down in our turquoise tufted banquette when Miguel brings us an ice cold bottle of Sauvignon Blanc; he should know, we’ve drunk copious amounts of Undurraga at his previous bar, El Presidio. (Of course, it’s Diego’s bar, but you know what I mean.)

We are drinking in the modern décor. It’s all chrome, pewter, and wrought iron, combined with wooden and tile floors, and contemporary furniture. The chairs are comfortable, even the bar stools have proper backs, that run along the turquoise marble counter. It’s been designed with privacy in mind. Areas are discreetly divided with chrome screens, and with different styles of furniture. It’s really like a furniture showroom; although the room seats 90, you can be in different dining rooms. The owner is apparently big on privacy – there’s a hidden staircase taking VIPs to the upper terrace that is divided into two private event rooms. Your best friend (now ex) could easily be hosting a party on the terrace and you’d never see her friends coming or going. Apart from that staircase, all other areas (including the outdoor ground floor patio) are handicap accessible.

I ordered the grilled shrimp on a bed of homemade mashed potatoes. I counted eight perfectly cook shrimp (no shell), $105. Soren was about to dig into the tuna sashimi ($75) when our friends entered the scene. Here’s where the opinions start flying. “Dinky square napkins, flat screen tvs and the menu printed on paper placemats do not say ‘fine dining.’” “ Sashimi tasty, but cut too thick.” “Shrimp burger ($75) delicious, but too much bun.” “ Shrimp tempura ($99) excellent, the right amount of batter.” “ Shrimp Chimichangas ($55) good, on par with everyone else.” “Presentation is excellent, a splendid balance of quality and price.” The name says it all, ocean, but there are three meat dishes. Soren enjoyed the 180 gram Black Angus burger ($70) and for once it was too rare, no problem to fix. Carnivores can also choose a rib eye ($150) or an arrachera ($100).

DSCN1292 e1381439125147 Restaurant Reviews“The food arrives quickly…when my friend was half way through her tostada ($29) her main arrived (perhaps a little too quickly) and you should have seen the size of the tuna on the tuna burger ($70). It was a beautiful thick slice of tuna, on a fresh bun with jojo fries. She said it was delicious, tasty and juicy. Unfortunately my sushi roll ($65) was terrible. I sent it back and ordered a tostada thinking I would likely have to pay for both. The manager appeared, apologized and then took everything off my bill. The professionalism he showed, I had not seen in a very long time in Mazatlan. We ran into some friends on the way out and they agreed the Oriental section (five dishes) is not very good. Perhaps stay away! The beers are inexpensive, $17 for Pacifico and $19 for a Corona.”

So there you have it: from the silly square paper napkins, to the fabulous fresh fish and seafood, to the superb service with low prices, to the normal goofs that crop up in any restaurant that has been operating for only two weeks . And let’s give a round of applause to the day manager who comped that entire order. I figure if they have Miguel manning the ultra modern Plexiglas wine room/bar, and Sammy the evening manager who’s super service oriented, the Ocean Grill will become a popular place to meet friends and watch the sunset. Just keep one eye open for those private parties.

(Ocean Grill Restaurant, Ave del Mar #1113 (just north of Insurgentes), open every day from noon on. Beautiful bathrooms with the latest fixtures; handicap accessible; parking behind for 100 vehicles; call 669 983 2299 to reserve. Americano coffee only, no espresso. Glass of wine averages $55, bottles from $180-$380)

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Krema rises at The Culinary Market

By Sheila Madsen (July 2013)

DSCN1214 e1374022004316 Restaurant ReviewsThe Culinary Market is perfectly named. Culinary comes from the Latin word culina, kitchen, and today refers to anything connected to cooking or the kitchen. The resident culinary artist is Héctor Peniche; he’s the owner of Molika Bakery and truly knows the art of preparing and cooking foods. We are sitting on the Heriberto Frias side patio (you can also enter the market from Belisario Dominguez) discussing the present and the future plans for The Culinary Market. Molika Bakery (not the restaurant) moved in last spring and now the baker has opened KREMA Café y Gelato. The Culinary Market’s building dates back to 1847. The old bones have survived, as well as the tiles, high ceilings and a there’s certain French attitude hanging in the air; only crème de la crème for this market. 19th. century French merchants may have left the building, but now Héctor’s in charge and there’s no middle ground: “this place will have only the best – the best bakery, the best coffee, the best Italian gelato, the best deli, the best vegetables, the best bagels, the best all day English breakfast, the best burgers, the best wraps, the best New York deli pastrami sandwich. Of course I make my own ham, pastrami, rye bread and potato salad.” Of course.

I do my best to slow the chef down. May we begin with Krema? It’s hot so Krema has gone cold. Homemade gelato, with all natural products with flavours such as double chocolate, strawberry cheesecake, yogurt and berries, and crème brule. More are in the churner, and they are being tested daily. Iced coffees, hot cappuccinos, any coffee your way is being served. You can have waffles, wraps and tortas too. And why not top that up with sticky toffee pudding? The dozen ceiling fans provide a pleasant breeze allowing you to enjoy your icy gelato inside or outside.

KremaLogo e1374022511298 Restaurant ReviewsStalls and food carts are being built during the summer to accommodate the hand picked vendors. Felix from Good Day, will be selling his veggies, and will try “to be as organic as he can.” When all the vendors have moved in, chef will do a walk about; Héctor will assess the produce and then create a special menu based on the ingredients. “It will be a small menu, maybe ten choices, but they will be inspired by ingredients sold in The Culinary Market. Perhaps a salmon burger, perhaps a chicken or a tuna burger, I’m even going to make real frites. You can eat it here, or take it home. Pick up a Molika dessert, and you’ll have a delicious meal.” Ah, but the best is yet to come.

There’s a very special room inside The Culinary Market. It’s a large space running along Mariano Escobedo, the excitement in this store is palpable. The owner is away on a shopping spree; he’s buying wines and premium beer. At long last, a wine store in Centro! The current license is to sell only, not to be consumed on the premises, but in the fullness of time you know anything is possible in Mexico. Can you not see yourself sashaying through this market, selecting a fresh bagel smothered in cream cheese and gravlax, then pausing to buy a bottle of wine because you are going to Linda’s tonight for dinner? And because you may have drunk too much wine at Linda’s, can you not see yourself craving a classic English fry-up in the early morning? The Culinary Market – perfectly named, perfect for Centro.

(Updated April 2014 – Krema will be closed from April 27 until November. The bakery bakes on all year long, except on Sundays.)

(Updated March 2014 – the boutique liquor store, La Cava de Don Rodolfo opened on Monday March 31. It has a decent selection of spirits, wine and beer. Closed Sundays, open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.)

(Updated December 2013) Felix Velarde is having a Good Day in his Fresh Boutique in The Culinary Market. Okay, those are three different companies that need to be explained. The Culinary Market is on Belisario Dominguez #1604 (home of Molika Bakery, and Krema Café y Gelato), and Felix is running the Fresh Boutique from The Culinary Market. Good Day Produce is his export business and you may remember him (and the Good Day name) from Saturday mornings at the Mercado Orgánico (MOM) at the Zaragoza square. Felix wanted to offer organic products all year round to Mexicans, expats and chefs, which is why he moved into The Culinary Market. Today he is selling certified organic vegetables: eggplant, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, bell peppers (red, green, yellow), charlotte onions (is that a vegtable?) and many kinds of lettuce such as arugula, and this is just the beginning. His organic herb heaven, fresh cut, includes: tarragon, chive, sage, dill, basil, rosemary, thyme, marjoram and oregano. Ask him for a plant for your garden or your terrace, he’ll bring it in. Where was I? Felix is calmly excited and I’m trying to keep up with his tour. Now I remember. If it has a yellow sticker that says “organic” then it’s certified organic – no pesticides, no chemicals. He does explain “there are farms in transition, they want to be organic but there could be some residue of chemicals, so they don’t get the yellow sticker.” In other words, Fresh Boutique is mostly certified organic but some produce may not be totally organic. His other selling points were “I want to offer the best price, from farm to table, at times that suit Mexicans and restaurants, so I am open from 7 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. every day, I close only on Sunday. Now I bring in fresh produce Tuesdays and Saturdays, soon I will add Thursdays, which means you can buy fresh almost every day.” It really is a good day when you have a cappuccino from Krema, a pastry from Molika, and buy your vegetables and fruits from what my mother called “a green grocer” all under the same roof. It will be a perfect day when the wine store opens. (see update above, it’s all perfect now!)

 

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Wine by the glass – half empty or half full?

By Sheila Madsen, December 2012

Perhaps you are like Kathy Griffin’s 91 year old alcoholic mother, Maggie, who lives to turn the spigot on her box wine, and is known for yelling “tip it, tip it!” We are in the land of cerveza and tequila, so restaurants don’t pay much attention to wine, and often Maggie’s box wine rules. Daily house wines, red or white,  in most restaurants are: La Cetto, jugs of Gallo, Franzia box wine, Carlo Rossi, Concha y Toro, Don Simone, Vino Maipo plus a bunch of others, with top retail bottle price being $75. I’m putting the plonk label on all these low priced wines. Wait staff frequently open a bottle on Saturday, and then pour again from the same bottle on Tuesday. No doubt it will be oxidized and taste like vinegar. Yes, even Don Simone can be “off.” The other thing bars don’t do, is the math. Often four glasses of wine are cheaper than buying the bottle. Or course, buying the bottle should be less expensive and yields four large pours, instead of the industry standard of 5 oz.

There are three things you can do to assist the wait staff.  Name your grape. You are not in Napa Valley, so help them out with the colour –  white – sauvignon blanc, or chardonnay;  red – cabernet sauvignon or merlot.  It’s easy to confuse sauvignon blanc with cabernet sauvignon,  so be clear with white/red and then your grape. If you are drinking alone I recommend you learn to say “primero, me gusteria provar el vino.” You are making a simple request to have a sip of wine, to make sure it’s not ancient history; showing an inch with a thumb and index finger works too. Taste before you quaff a glass.Thirdly, if you are sharing a bottle, do the math – add up the per glass price vs. by the bottle before you buy.

With a little help from my friends I’ve gathered wine by glass prices from north to south. Interesting to note three restaurants/bars stand out – in that they sell a decent wine, two steps above plonk, giving a good pour. Molika Bakery, refreshes its wine list often, $55; El Presidio serves Undurraga for $65; Social Lounge changes its wine too, a 5 oz pour from $50 – $60. It’s cheaper at Social by the bottle. Plonk in the south: The Jonathon, $65, 5 oz; Beach Burger, $60, 7 oz; Topolo, $70, 7 oz; La Tramoya, $55, 5 oz; La Bohemia, $55, 6 oz; La Cueva del León, $55, 6 oz; Puerto Viejo, $30-$45; 6 oz; Paulina’s $30 – $40, 6 oz; Macaws $55, 7 oz; El Shrimp bucket $55, 7 oz; Pedro y Lola’s, $55, 6 oz; Casa Cannobio, $50, 6 oz; Machado Fish Taco $60, 7 oz; El Aljibe $40-$65, 6 oz; and moving north to Twisted Mama’s $45, 6 oz; Yoopers $55, 6 oz; Fat Fish, $45, 6 oz; Las Flores $50, 6 oz; Raggio $60, 6 oz; Villa Italia $52 4 oz; El Papagayo (Inn at Mazatlan) $45, 6 oz. The winners for best pours, and most consistent plonk are: Macaws, El Shrimp Bucket, El Aljibe, and El Papagayo…so far. The winner for the best non plonk and pour is Molika…so far. Updated November 2013 – “better” wine pours are El Presidio, Topolo and El Aljibe – between $50-$60.

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

El Presidio – Cocina de Mexico, inside the Casa Garcia

(Updated November 2013 by Sheila Madsen: El Presidio, since my last review, has expanded. There are three distinct areas for dining now. The main dining room inside, tables in courtyard, and the sexy bar. I’ve returned many times, the food is always superb and the wait staff just keeps on getting better. You get the feeling that everyone is excited to be in such an elegant space – from the staff to the patrons, you can just feel the appreciation and that appreciation is transported to all the food.)

By Sheila Madsen, December 2012

DSCN0721 e1354382882743 Restaurant Reviews

(Updated May 2013 -The best mole sauce is in Oaxaca. No, the best mole sauce is in Pueblo. No, wait the absolute best is a restaurant in Mexico City. Chef Diego from El Presidio gave me a crash course in mole sauces last night. The fact is: there are literally hundreds of ways to make it and it’s entirely personal. One could have more peanuts, more fruit, more chilies or more chocolate. One could stir the sauce for seven days. Or, as he experienced in Oaxaca, all the ingredients are burned and the ashes are folded into a secret liquid.

Chef is animated when he discusses mole and being a chef he’s developed his own special sauce. He was tempting me with gorgeous photos on his phone. When can I try it, thinking I’d come back in a couple of weeks, how about right now Diego replied, good idea says me once again, twirling away on my bar stool. The new creation is called El Presidio Platter and is comprised of three separate dishes, with completely difference flavours, yet complementary. I began with the small thin corn tortillas that are layered with pulled pork, dripping in Diego’s mole sauce and topped with sour cream. OMG. I then moved onto grilled beef fillet (four generous slices) that were swimming in a seafood sauce. Another taste sensation and the beef was oh so tender and cooked medium rare. Perfect. The last item on the large white rectangular plate was chef’s version of a chili pepper – the pepper was stuffed with pork rinds, caramelized onions and then broiled with Gouda cheese. It has just the right spicy kick to it. This is tapas on steroids, and can easily be shared,$279. It hasn’t made it on the menu yet but it’s sure being made in the kitchen. Just ask for Pastel Azteca and you too can savour this trio of divine flavours.)

Casa Garcia, a large house painted a soft grey, has been gracefully sitting on the corner of Mariano Escobedo and Niños Heroes since 1876. You’ve walked by it hundreds of times and you may have attended private events in the courtyard. At long last, the interior restaurant is completed and the large, custom made kitchen, is ruled by Chef Diego Becerra.

Meet the Becerra brothers: Diego, Chef (still planning menus at Diego’s Beach House); Rodrigo (owner of La Mona Pizza, and sculptor) manages El Presidio’s operations; Rodolfo (aka Fufo), videographer; absent tonight is Roberto, engineer, and motivational speaker. Señora Gabriella Rodriquez gave birth to four boys all with unique talents. She ensured their education included a stint in New Hampshire so they would learn English. The Becerra brothers rode their tricycles in this courtyard; it was their great grandmother’s house. The years fall away from the three brothers as they reminisce about visiting the casa. They even start to poke and nudge one another as boys often do when they are six years old. Their smiles are as wide as the El Presidio river, Mazatlan’s largest river, the name Diego chose for his restaurant.

DSCN0715 e1354385341764 Restaurant ReviewsThe interior is an elegant industrial look. There are hanging aluminum air ducts, rough concrete walls inset with rocks, exposed wooden beams, a gilt mirror, old photographs, pendulum lights with glass drops, and a large mural of birds in a habitat that only exists in the artist’s mind. Coffee coloured granite tables sit on the original black and white tiles, and the chairs are padded leather in shades of burgundy and black. The cutlery is a beautifully designed stainless steel, the china is pure white. Vases and votive candles on every table. An enclosed atrium with plants, water, and rocks is a lovely visual distraction. Lights are low, as is the music. The mood is set: tasteful yet exciting, comfortable so you can absorb old Mazatlan, while the new generation is ready to serve you a wonderful dinner.

Diego is passionate about Mexican food, and using local ingredients. He trained in Mexico City and has always focused on Mexican cuisine. The menu reflects his passion; new world fusion loaded with Mexican flavours. There are eight “let’s begin” – from a simple salad to beef tongue, and a mole and duck burrito. One appetizer that is not Mexican is hamachi (a farmed version of yellowtail) sashimi, for $195. The rest of the “let’s begins” run from $89 to $119. Moving down the menu to “the main stuff”: Mexican fried noodles with grilled zarandeado shrimp, $179; chipotle and vanilla glazed roasted chicken, $129; boneless pork ribs in tomatillo sauce, $129; grilled catch of day on a cream poblano chile rice, $179; duck confit in a mole sauce, $195; a ribeye steak, (Diego swears it’s black angus imported beef) with habanero and lime butter, $329.

chicken e1354383391401 Restaurant ReviewsAs you can see it’s a small, varied menu which Chef intends on changing often. I finally decided on the chipotle chicken with potatoes anna. The chicken was perfectly cooked, served on a bed of asparagus, moist, and a blend of many wonderful spices, just delicious. The classic French presentation of the potatoes anna was sinful – thin sliced, cooked in a vat of butter. Hello treadmill. My companion chose the boneless pork ribs, which arrived with a small portion of fried beans, plus a scoop of rice topped with a soft boiled egg. Diego explained the rice and egg were to offset the acidity of the tomatillo sauce. Ribs were super tender, no bone to pick at, but be prepared for a spicy zing. Last on the menu is “did you save room?” No, we didn’t but all desserts are $75: goat cheese filled crepes, warm chocolate cake with garrafa ice cream, brioche with cajeta and strawberry sauce, and banana cream filled fritters with chocolate sauce.

garden e1354384265482 Restaurant ReviewsDiego suggested we have coffee (yes, the espresso machine is working) and drinks in the courtyard. That’s when he explained his vision of the 40 seat El Presidio. There will be a discreet bar in the corner of the courtyard and he plans on following what all private clubs have been doing, successfully, for centuries. When you arrive you’ll be seated in the courtyard with a drink and then given a menu. You’ll take your time selecting, ask a few questions and then place your dinner order while still in the courtyard. When your dinner is ready you’ll be ushered to your table, and be served immediately. It’s an ideal dinner flow; you enjoy the courtyard lit with votive candles, and fairy lights, surrounded by fig, laurel, mango and banyan trees that reach up to the stars, and then you glide into the dining room for taste sensations. The kitchen is far away from the dining room – “we put it in the least attractive space” – so Diego invented and made portable incubators to carry the food to and fro. After dinner you return to the courtyard for coffee and a liquor and perhaps gaze into the two fish ponds with muted lighting. This is an upscale restaurant with all the right ingredients; excellent service, amazing ambience, and quality food with a Mexican gourmet twist. (our bill with tip was $800, wines by the glass are $65, worth every peseo and we’d do it all over again.) (Updated December 6: Opens on a Friday packed on a Wednesday night. I’m sure El Presidio will become a reservations only place. Three of us happily waited in the courtyard for our table. Didn’t take long before two in our party were enjoying the Japanese hamachi – fresh sashimi, one person approved of the added spices, another person would order it naked the next time. Diego was right about the ribeye, it’s the real deal. We asked for it medium and it came rare, so I suggest you say pink, (if that’s the way you like it) and Chef will know exactly how to cook it. I’d guess it was at least 9 oz, perfect for sharing. No complaints from the kitchen about splitting, so at $329 that becomes a reasonable price for a great piece of steak. Second time around I checked out the ladies room, wow, 11 stalls, and rows of basins! No line ups here, all super clean.)

El Presidio, Mariano Escobedo and Niños Heroes, enter on the Niños Heroes side, open every day from 1 p.m. on, call for reservations at 669 910 2615 or 669 136 0693, credit cards accepted. Sometimes closed for private events, call ahead.

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

The sounds of silence – dining at La Rosa de las Barras

By Sheila Madsen ( May 2012)

I realize this article is under restaurant reviews. But first one needs to describe Gail Blackburn, the owner of La Rosa de las Barras. Where to begin? Perhaps I’ll start with superwoman. She owns and operates the beautiful getaway one hour north of Mazatlan. Running a remote beachfront lodge is not so unusual; any normal person would hire workers to build one’s vision. Here’s where the superwoman part comes in: Gail has built every single structure, and planted every single tree by herself. After 12 years it’s a garden of Eden overflowing with oleander, clumping bamboo, vivid bougainvillea, palm trees, flowering hibiscus the size of dinner plates, and hundreds of other flora I could not identify. I have no idea when she found the time to create her new restaurant.

Gail discovered this pristine beach, complete with a coral reef (ideal for snorkeling) a dozen years ago. She bought a dirt patch. No problem. Up goes one casita, followed by four others. She cuts the wood, she hauls the stones, she constructs the stone waterfall showers and intricate mosaic sinks. I’m not even sure if she hires a plumber or electrician, maybe she does that work too. The river washed stone baseboards are so meticulously crafted they are a design feature you’ll want to copy. After so many who, what, and how questions, and Gail always answering “oh, I made this, it’s really easy”, I swore I would stop asking. A final question popped out by mistake when I saw the giant outdoor Jacuzzi. Of course, silly me, Gail made that too. She may have bought the heat pump.

Four of us were there for a tranquil lunch at her new restaurant. She happily chatted with us and shared the history of La Rosa. It appears she doesn’t do the cooking for the restaurant and has actually hired a chef and wait staff. It’s a relief to see her relax, but I have no doubt she’s an excellent cook too. It’s a large menu, complete with pizza, but being surrounded by crustaceans and fish we all decided on the catch of the day. Oh boy, the sweet fresh shrimp, 7” long, were perfectly cooked and nothing like I had ever tasted in Mazatlan. Seriously, super sweet, like Maine lobster claws. Caught right out of her backyard (it’s a giant estuary with 40 pangas) we also devoured fresh corvina, grilled just right. At our request, lightly spiced, no heavy sauces, everthing so moist and fresh. Next time I am ordering lobster. Bring your own alcohol and be prepared to chill out with delicious food under a palapa overlooking the ocean, or sit right on the beach with the sand between your toes. Stay all day and swim. Bike, kayak, surf. Spend the night. Gail encourages it all.

 

When Gail isn’t building, or fixing, or adding on, she often has mosaic workshops. The 360 degree view from her workshop is well worth the price. Unbelievable – not a billboard, or a highrise in sight. The San Ignacio county does not permit anything over two storeys. Only rivers, estuaries, various vistas of the Pacific, acres of lush green land and always the background of the Sierra Madres. In the cooler months she grows organic veggies and food to supply her restaurant and to sell at the Organic Market in Zaragoza Square. Her Saturdays begin at 2 a.m. and wearing a miner’s helmet allows her to pick the freshest produce for Centro. Then she’s on the road by 4 a.m. and her booth is set up by 8 a.m. There’s that superwoman thing again. Did I mention she’s completely bilingual and is just one of three gringos in the entire area?

We chose to complete the day with a visit to Las Labradas petroglyphs. Nothing but sea and surf, and petroglyphs carved into inky black rocks. Not a person in sight. Perfect.

If you are craving calm, quiet and tranquil in a people free zone then La Rosa is the place. Perhaps visit Las Labradas first and then hang out at La Rosa for the rest of day. La Rosa can book up quickly so it’s best to call ahead to: reserve, ensure the kitchen is open, and to check on the road conditions. A four wheel drive can handle the 20 minute dirt road into La Rosa, but when the rains arrive it can be a difficult negotiation. Perhaps it was the volcanic rocks (are they?) but I got the feeling I was in a very hot spot of Ireland, or Newfoundland, or even somewhere in Australia. Probably the fact that there were no parades, no horns honking, no blaring banda music, no promotional loudspeakers, simply the silence of nature.

Call for reservations: 696 102 5001, e mail: larosadelasbarras@gmail.com or visit: www.larosadelasbarras.com. Gail could be mending a fence,or sorting through glass baubles, so I think a phone call is the best method. 



Angelina’s Latin Kitchen is located on Olas Altas, sandwiched between The Bel Mar and El Faro.
The hours are  from 8 a.m. on. Closed on Mondays.  For reservations: 910 1596

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Mi Casita Pizzeria – consider yourself part of the family

By Hudson Carter

me casita1 e1332269028691 Restaurant Reviews(Updated in July 2012:  Mi Casita introduced a gluten free pizza crust.  It’s a delicious thin crust, just add your favourite toppings. 24 hours notice is required for the gluten free crust.) A little off the beaten path, you will find a new restaurant. Mi Casita. Since the tourist drought has created hard times for many of the local guides – creative solutions are needed. Jesus Lizarraga and his enterprising family have pitched in together and opened the front patio of their home as an intimate, welcoming pizzeria. It is working well!

The menu is simple – pizza, submarine sandwiches and spaghetti are offered. Soft drinks or water are the only beverages for sale, but we were told to bring our own wine on another visit if we wished. The service is casual and friendly – English spoken. There were no menus, which might intimidate some clients, as they don’t get to see prices. The prices are very reasonable and your server will happily explain all the choices and answer any questions.

me casita3 e1332269671208 Restaurant ReviewsIn a couple of visits – we have tried all the choices. The pizza and subs were great. You have a choice of thin or thick crust and both are winners. You get to create your own combination of ingredients – so how can you go wrong? When ordering my sub – there were lots of combinations and I just made it easy for them by saying I’d have “everything”. It was delicious and huge, I had to take half home! The spaghetti was “so-so”, OK, but not special. I will give it another chance on another visit, maybe asking for more spice.

As to prices, our order of a sub and spaghetti with beverages was 90 pesos. On another visit, a vegetarian pizza with three soft drinks was 110 pesos. All servings were generous and made to order.

Good food at reasonable prices, friendly service, cozy garden = lovely afternoon!

If you aren’t up for an evening out – they happily deliver in a fun, red pulmonia.

Mi Casita, Melchor Ocampo, 407 (close to the Blue Church on 5 de Mayo), 910- 11-58
Open from noon to 9 p.m. Washroom: in house and clean.

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Raggio, cucina casual


(Updated April 2013 by Sheila Madsen: It’s my first time and I knew I’d be dealing with many pasta and pizza dishes, after all it is an Italian restaurant. I’ve resisted going because I am gluten intolerant, Celiac, and this eliminates many choices and it’s not Raggio’s problem, it’s mine. The menu did offer specials of seared tuna, pork shank and a fillet of beef. I was in the mood for a salad and the Greek salad was fresh, crispy and had all the right ingredients. My friend order the spaghetti and meatballs, she said it was so so, and really preferred the same dish at Casa Canobbio. Wine is still $60 a glass, decent pour, and Raggio has an excellent, enthusiastic wait staff.)

By Rick Azulay ( April, 2012)

I was brought up in an Italian neighborhood in Boston, so when I travel, I usually steer clear of restaurants that claim to have Cucina Italiana. However, Raggio in the Golden Zone, was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant features a crisp modern décor; marble top tables and magenta chairs and cushions. The centre pieces are the large authentic pizza oven and an open kitchen. Upon entering, my wife, Joan and I were greeted immediately, seated and presented with a menu that was brief but covered all the bases. The starters included two salads, a soup and wood fired roasted vegetables. Four pizzas and seven pasta dishes were the main offerings. I opted for the lasagna dish with iced tea, while my wife chose the spinach ravioli with a white wine. As soon as we ordered, the waiter brought us bread with a tasty olive oil balsamic dip and complimentary minestrone soup. The soup was light and flavorful with fresh vegetables and capellini. Even my wife had to note that it beat her recipe. The huge lasagna portion was served with a side salad of arugula. The ravioli with mushrooms and white wine and shallots was light and filling at the same time. The most outstanding feature is that the pasta is homemade and this is what sets the Raggio experience apart from the usual Italian fare. The only downside was that the wine list consisted of only one white and one red and soft drinks were served in their original cans or bottles. This was a little too casual for me. All in all, a great experience and we will return soon. Dessert and coffee are available from its sister coffee shop next door, Allegro, which shares an outside patio. We wish a Raggio Due (2) would open next to the Allegro in El Centro. I’d feel like I was back in my old neighborhood.

Greek and red salad, $65; roasted vegetables, $80; minestrone, $70; meatballs – three large meatballs in a ragu sauce, $90; four pizzas $110-$120; seven pasta dishes $90-$120. Glass of house wine $60, beer $25.

Closed Mondays, open from noon on, 669 913 5999

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

 

Villa Italia – excellent service, ordinary food

By Sheila Madsen (February 2012)

Large groups were leaving at 7:30 p.m. and more people were pouring in to take their places at Villa Italia, the restaurant attached to El Cid. The wait staff barely had time to brush off the tables and lay down clean cutlery for new customers. You can eat on the front terrace (noisy on Sabalo), the back terrace ( set back, a little quieter) or in the two beautifully decorated rooms inside. We opted for inside and are glad we did as a freak rain storm paid us a visit for fifteen minutes.

Chairs are padded in soft reds and beiges. White table cloths and matching napkins, all very proper, waiters are prompt and ready to please. Too bad about the food. Too bad about the wine. There are only two wines offered by the glass; Concha y Toro- merlot or cabernet sauvignon , we ordered two glasses which were served in cheesy, dollar store wine glasses. I noticed another table bought a bottle of Concha y Toro and they too were given the cheap glasses. Yet a second table went a little upscale in their wine order and received the proper, elegant stemware. I asked the waiter and he said “when you order anything else other than Concha y Toro you get better glasses.” Right away the owner had decided to penalize us, by not ordering a bottle of better wine. Remember, the only wine by the glass was Concha y Toro.

The pasta was ordinary. Spaghetti with meat balls in a ho hum tomato cream sauce, served lukewarm. Chicken breast with porcini mushrooms was beyond bland. The chicken was cold, absolutely no flavour, the rice was piping hot, but raw. The waiter removed the uneaten chicken, no problems, not a care in the world, and returned with steamed asparagus in the same boring tomato cream sauce. The asparagus was perfectly cooked and hot. Small wine pours $52, returned chicken $165, spaghetti $100, asparagus appetizer $100. I don’t know who is MIA, the chef, the owner? I don’t think anyone had tasted the food at Villa Italia in three years. Tons of attention to detail on service, but zero on the food, sort of an anomaly for Mazatlan. Usually the food is lovingly prepared and it falls down on the execution. All we could think of was how Héctor Peniche of Molika would never let food like this leave his kitchen. So that’s Villa Italia; great service, lovely atmosphere, ordinary food.

Camaron Sabalo, attached to El Cid, call 669 913 0311 for hours of operation and reservations.

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews
Pizza and pasta in the Plazuela Machado

Introduction by Sheila Madsen (being gluten intolerant there is very little I can eat here, so I’ve relied on friends for reviews. Owner Gaston Espino has promised to make me fish or chicken at any time. This really isn’t a review; go, decide for yourself, Feb. 2012)

Casa Canobbio, is the new Italian restaurant in the Plazuela Machado. Mazatlecos, Gaston Espino and his wife Yolanda, own two restaurants and three bars in Cabo. “We’ve been longing to return to Mazatlan, and the only area we wanted to open a restaurant in was in the Plazuela Machado.” The Canobbio family owned one of Mazatlan’s largest pharmacies in 1899, and under these architectural portals they manufactured the elixir, “the goddess of Venus”, which promised eternal youth. Casa Canobbio is promising an Italian décor complete with graceful drawings from a great, great, great, Canobbio auntie, and the original pestle and mortar that mixed the ingredients for eternal youth is proudly on display. The bar is wrapped in a wrought iron repeat pattern, the walls have a rustic finish, the music is low and discreet, the lighting is soft and the ceiling fans are beautifully designed. The tables are covered in traditional red and white checkered cloths and as Darian Day said “I feel as if I am in Italy, in Sicily, this is exactly the kind of restaurant the Machado needs.”

The wait staff uniform is so Italian; crisp white shirt, red bow tie, black tuxedo vest and a bright red apron. The menu cover is elegant in deep shades of earthy brown. Open it and you’ll discover salads, 11 pasta dishes and a choice of eight thin crust pizzas ranging from $85- $140. There’s a full bar, a choice of wines by the glass or bottle, and beer on tap. Sit inside and soak up the atmosphere, or outside where the entire square is before you. When Gaston Espino was teenager his parents sent him to Windsor, Ontario to learn English (poor guy, freezing to death in that small town) so he asked that you all drop by to say hello, and sample his food. He’s charming and very service oriented. If he could, he would give you the recipe for eternal youth, but for now it lies in the red wine and in his delicious Italian food.

Update: four of us went there for dinner. It was only the second night yet waiters were attentive, not hovering, and items requested were brought quickly. The Caesar salad was good, not amazing. I prefer the dressing of El Shrimp Bucket, and the chicken to be grilled. Romaine lettuce was crisp with lots of parmesan cheese. Val Johnson had the spaghetti Napoli and she reported “the pasta is perfectly cooked, el dente, the flavours rustic, not acidy, it has a true Italian flavour.” Her husband, Roy, ordered the lasagna and claimed “it was very good.” Ok, so he won’t be employed as a restaurant reviewer but his plate was polished clean and both Val and Roy will return. Later that week…Joan and Rick Azulay said they enjoyed their thin crust pizza “we preferred the crust and taste to the pizza at La Bohemia.”

Casa Cannobio, in the Plazuela Machado, on Heriberto Frias, open every day from noon on, accepts credit cards.

 

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews


Dining in an eclectic art gallery

By Sheila Madsen (January 22, 2012)

(Updated November 2013: Over the years owner José Pérez Garcia has tried adding specials, he just keeps experimenting. This year he has decided to return to this original menu (extensive, varied) and perfect those dishes. So far, all our food has been delicious – from pasta to shrimp tacos in a creamy sauce. The food is as creative as the space. José is a gentleman, a gentle man; when El Aljibe becomes busy, please remain calm and gentle.)

When you are longing for a cool atmosphere -think Paris underground circa 1950, then head to Centro’s newest restaurant, El Aljibe S. Pedro. It’s difficult to pull yourself away from an ocean view, or our wonderful Plazuela Machado, or the beautiful interior courtyards of La Bohemia, and Topolo, but when you eventually tire of that, do venture downstairs into the 150 year cistern of El Aljibe.

Eight years ago owner, José Pérez, pumped four feet of water out the building and then spent two years renovating and restoring this space into an art gallery – unlike anything you have seen before. Perhaps it’s his Spanish heritage, perhaps it’s just his eye as an collector, but this is one far out collection of: old sewing machines, a red leather barber’s chair, dolls heads propped on wooden beams, lasts hanging from the ceiling, sconces with shades and sun glasses, saxophones dangling on thin wires,and  ancient wooden chairs suspended, The table of six beside us of commented “it is organized chaos, we feel that we are in Europe somehwere (Paris or Spain) and we think the place is unique and so different from any place in Mazatlan.” Even the bano doors are completely different. One is covered in thousands of multi coloured buttons, the other is plastered with comics. Who thinks like this? José does, and continues to add to his vision.

Chunky tables and chairs – both antique and modern – await customers. Not too close, not too far apart, and the cylindrical ceiling acts as a natural baffle for noise. The rough concrete walls also display a fascinating selection of paintings so you won’t get bored while waiting for your meal. Although we didn’t have to wait at all. We were greeted warmly, shown to our table, and were allowed to try two Spanish red wines – a Rioja and a Rivera de Duero. We chose a glass each of the Rioja and it’s a generous pour for $40. Heck the whole bottle is only $140. With our wine arrived a complimentary tapas of fresh mushrooms stuffed with bacon. Very tasty. I ordered the catch of the day, my husband Soren, filet mignon. Fifteen minutes later our meals arrived, hot and at the same time. That’s a good sign. My white fish (corvina?) was perfectly grilled, moist and flakey served with fresh chopped veggies crowning a bed of rice. Two large pieces for $120. Soren’s beef was cooked as requested, medium rare, and arrived with a red wine sauce and heaping scoops of mashed potatoes. No greens, price, $130. Soren is very fussy about his tenderloin and said it was acceptable, but wouldn’t order it again. Next time he has lots to select from: six starters, all different from $40 – $80, two salads at $80, four mains the most expensive is $120, and six grilled offerings ranging from $100 – $130.

It’s a large menu with something for everyone. From gorditas topped with smoked marlin, to spaghetti with sea food, or maybe you are in the mood for pozole with chickpeas. Both of us had two tiny complaints. The Ipod music should have been a light jazz not disco/technopop (and José did change the shuffle for us) and for such a European feel, lose those small square paper napkins. Let’s take it from the top. Where you actually walk down to the exciting environment of an old cisterne where the service and quality of food is excellent. The attention to detail is rated high and that always gets confirmed in the neatness of the restrooms. We’ll return often, there’s more I want to see, and there’s more I want to eat. Then again, there’s a great bar area where I can sip on my Rioja and inhale this wild art collection.

(The second time around was even better… excellent service, all meals served hot and at the same time. Friends applauded the pozole with chickpeas – I had a sip and it was velvety soup with a rich meaty flavour. My friend claimed it was the garbanzo beans that made the difference. Rave reviews for both the spaghetti Bolognese and spaghetti with seafood; spaghetti was el dente, Bolognese packed with flavour with extra sauce on the side, and the seafood, shrimp and calamari in a cream sauce, was perfectly cooked. I had the grilled chicken Caesar salad – the dressing was tangy, all ingredients were fresh, even the tomatoes – which is a little odd for a Caesar salad but did not detract from the dish. All portions were huge and could have been shared. Pozole $90, pasta dishes $80, Caesar salad, $80.)

El Aljibe de S. Pedro, Constitución # 710, 669 982 6518, open Tuesday to Saturday from 5 p.m. – 11 p.m.

 

 redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews


Topolo serves it your way

By Sheila Madsen (December 2011)

(Updated October 2012: Top marks for Topolo. The tapas menu has been perfected and offers picadas – that’s the baby brother to their pork shank on sopas. The same slow cooked pork in adobe sauce, but it’s served on a small sopa. Tuna tartar, and a cheese and fruit platter for two have been added. Mains include lobster stuffed poblano peppers and a lobster surf and turf; if not in season, then large shrimp will be substituted. For dessert there’s a new super sundae – ice cream, caramel and hot fudge sauce, blackberries, pecans, all topped with whipped cream. There’s also a dessert sampler for two; chocolate mousse, cheesecake and key lime pie. Topolo continues to serve it your way.)

It’s difficult to know where to begin with the praise for Topolo Mexican Restaurant. Is it the magical atmosphere, excellent service, or consistently superb food? After living in Mazatlan for three years and returning to Topolo again and again, it’s simply all three. Eileen and Fernando, the owners, have nailed the two most difficult things in a restaurant; consistent quality of product and amazing service. Add the open courtyard with palms reaching to the sky, the subtle lighting, the romantic live background music, and a calming waterfall and you have it all – night, after night, after night. There are no missteps.

0gardenview2 e1323026625634 Restaurant Reviews

I can assure you as a resident of Mazatlan everything you read on TripAdvisor about Topolo is true. Reservations are a must and are honoured. They don’t “lose” your name. If you are two, and a group of ten walk in before you, the service is absolutely the same. No missteps. It’s perfect. The experience begins with wait staff introducing themselves, and ensuring you have everything you need. They don’t meet and greet and disappear, they stay with you. Next, is the salsa show; it’s the famous Topolo roasted tomato salsa made fresh at your table exactly the way you want it. Our friend from Toronto wanted it spicy, we wanted it not so spicy. No problem, all mixed before us, our way. And therein lies the truth about this beautiful restaurant. It’s all about the customer, and what you want.

Over the years I’ve eaten: cilantro fish filet – stuffed with shrimp, celery onion and topped with a light butter, lime and cilantro sauce, $180; papillote fish filet, steamed in a corn husk with shrimp, scallops and a tomato sauce, $180; coconut shrimp with mango sauce, $190, tequila shrimp $190; half boneless chicken breast marinated in adobe sauce and tequila, $150; chilled crab and shrimp salad $90; strawberry greens salad, $80; and my current favourite is the pork shank slow cooked in adobe sauce, served with veggies and mashed potatoes, $170. This is fall off the bone, tender meat and during the winter I will return to this dish many times. A not very hungry couple could start with the delicious salsa and easily share the pork shank; in fact share any meal, the portions are generous.

DSCN1067 Version 2 Restaurant ReviewsWine training for wait staff.

A bottle of the house wine, a Mexican cab blend (it’s a smooth, soft red) is $300, or you can buy several kinds by the glass for $70. Because you don’t want to rush out of this delightful space, linger over dessert with an espresso, or another “fancy” coffee. If you think the prices sound higher than other restaurants, they are. What can I say? You get what you pay for. Or how about, you are worth it.

Topolo Mexican Restaurant and Wine Bar, one block from the Plazuela Machado, Constitucion # 629, open Monday to Saturday  from 2 – 11 p.m., and Sundays from 4 – 11 p.m. Major credit cards accepted. Call 136 0660 for reservations. Open every day at 3 p.m. Romantic background music.

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

La Bohemia, can you dig it?

By Dakota Francis, March 2011,

 

(Updated November 2013: chefs and cooks have come and gone. Owners are still playing with the menu. All wait staff aim to please and the tiny kitchen can produce some decent food. The review below really reflects the beautiful space, that just keeps improving. Music has been added – Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights. Oh, just go and soak it in, have a nibble or two. SM)

The minute you walk into La Bohemia, you know you are in a different time zone. A different element. Hey baby, dig that crazy scene and get jiggy with the décor. Snap your fingers in time to a mental Peggy Lee singing “Fever” and wish you had on your black capri pants, red high heels and tied at the waist blouse. Okay, so you don’t, but isn’t it fun? The high ceilings, graffiti’d walls, comfy couches and lounge chairs, hidden-away tables among the banyan tree roots, and accommodating wait staff.

After a sweltering summer La Bohemia – Bar, Galería y Tapas – has re-opened with a new chef managing the kitchen, Angelina Escutia. Chef has revamped the menu and it’s way more than tapas. Five tapas appetizers are offered including mussels – eleven giant, tender New Zealand mussels were steamed with white wine, garlic and served in a delicious provence style sauce, $145. Beet carpaccio, a bruschetta platter, pintxos ( the popular skewers) and salmon burritas are also available.

Our group chose not to have pizza, there are four gourmet pan pizzas, but we all shared the house salad with lettuce, spinach, peaches, cranberries, nuts, dry fruit, topped in a fabulous plum dressing, a bargain, and a full meal at $65. We moved onto fettuccine with wild mushroom sauce – the pasta perfectly cooked and served al dente, again easily shared for $75. Chef and her team, cooked the fresh grilled fish absolutely perfectly, tender and moist with a subtle sauce of black pepper, lemon, and herb garlic, $125. The generous pieces of mahi mahi were served on a bed of rice – the rice was not your usual boring lump, it was really tasty with secret herbs, and of course, garlic. Angelina is all about garlic. The last dish, and perhaps the best, was a chicken breast with creamy chipotle sauce, $90. The flavors were mouth watering and our table was groaning with enthusiasm. Two steak dishes are offered, as well as roast eggplant ravioli and “drunken” breaded shrimp. Service was attentive and the staff are still tinkering with the wine and drink list.

This is a place to have fun, to let your hair down, to kick off your shoes and tuck a leg underneath you and discuss Warhol, Pollock or the best hollandaise in town. With the open ceilings, natural brick walls, hanging Spanish moss, tete a tete corners and a cozy bar, it still is the place to be seen. La B: it’s a bar, it’s a light bite, it’s a romantic dinner, it’s secret hideway,  it’s everything you want it to B.

Plazuela Machado, Constitucion # 511 (Between La Tramoya and Beach Burger)
Accepts VISA, openTuesday – Sundays, 5 p.m.-11, 136 0866

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Sex in the City meets the Golden Zone

(Updated November 2013:  The owners have added new food, new drinks and music. The music is every Thursday (Wingin’ It, Rob Lamonica and Lori Davidson) and Tuesdays Frijoles Malo, swing jazz, “adult jazz for the young at heart”) at 6:30.This is probably one of the most sophisticated places to have a drink or a coffee.)

SOCIAL CAFE LOGO e1311280059945 Restaurant Reviews

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurants-g150792-Mazatlan_Pacific_Coast.html

The elegant Social Café Lounge – Sex and the City meets the Golden Zone – is Mazatlan’s newest premier café and cocktail spot. Managers Jennifer Woodman and Michael Hall, took over the Badlands Coffee Company space and dressed it up in coffee colour browns, trendy turquoise, added comfortable chairs and created a sexy mezzanine lounge. There’s also a large outdoor patio for people watching. Instead of investing in a chef and a kitchen, they have invested in delicious “finger food” – quick, tasty and easy to prepare. Imagine meeting your friends in a tranquil air conditioned atmosphere, and while sipping a coffee, a martini, or a beer – or don’t dine at all; it is a coffee house and a bar, no food purchases are expected.

The kitchen savings has all been ploughed into coffee and liquor. Jennifer’s seven years at Canada’s well known coffee chain, Second Cup, has provided her with a superb coffee background; she only uses real milk, “not that boxed stuff”, and you can have a cup of simple Americano, or an espresso macchiato, or how about a creamy hazelnut latte. All coffees, teas and chocolates are available in regular or large.  Social has expanded its breakfast choices and calls smoothies, “fruit chillers”; there is a choice of six. Later in the day Jen gets into the booze. Seven fancy coffees are served; the most expensive at $85 – try the B52 Café made with Kahlua, Grand Marnier, Bailey’s Irish Cream topped with whipping cream.

cheeseplatter1 1 Restaurant Reviews

I believe next to coffee, Jen’s passion is vodka. Sip a La Viva Diva ($75) – Absolut Vodka, mango liqueur, peach liqueur, pineapple and orange juices. Or Sex Appeal ($75) – Absolut Vodka, apple liqueur, melon liqueur, pineapple and lime juices. Maybe you’ve had a frustrating day with your contractor- then head for the Social Café Lounge’s mezzanine, curl up on the squishy sofa with your iPad, (free Wi-Fi) and enjoy a glass of wine. The Café offers three reds and whites by the glass. Be alone, be social. But be there for the nightly specials. Quiet contemporary music is piped in at just the right volume to talk, or read. You can easily make this upscale lounge your home away from home; finally, a place that caters to our mood and food swings. Social Café Lounge, Av. Camaron Sabalo #710, (in front of Costa de Oro), open from 8a.m. – 11 p.m. closed Sundays 176 7144, http://www.socialcafelounge.com

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Casa Loma, 36 and counting

(Updated August 2012, Sheila Madsen:now 37 and counting… I would agree with Dakota’s review from a year ago. Same massive menu, really something for everyone. I couldn’t decide if the dark wooden paneling was a relief from the humidity, or just out of place in a Mexican seaside city. The service was excellent, waiters were very attentive. I too was glad of the 30% discount, if you pay cash, as the price point is higher than other establishments. Every Saturday night the Mexico trio, Grupo Canto Altano, play lovely background music. The upscale environment and trio are worth a return visit.)

By Dakota Francis August 9, 2011

One of Mazatlan’s oldest and most loved restaurants has a distinct flavor of bygone days, when people actually dressed for dinner and flip flops were confined to the beach. After 36 years of continuous service, there is still much of that same feeling as it tends to be a destination for a special occasion; an anniversary, a birthday, a good-bye to friends, which was the case with our table.

Called “the house on the hill”, it sits in a residential neighborhood and is very unimposing, until you enter the front door. For those who want to dine more casually with a feeling of al fresco, there are brightly set tables in a patio like setting. However, being the middle of summer, the air conditioning on the inside dining room was more than welcome. The dark wood ceilings and paneling, burgundy red walls and elegantly plated tables make one almost want to whisper or at least look around for Carlos Slim, who may be sitting in a far corner. The wait staff is prepared to give your table initial superb attention and you are greeted upon entering the front door without delay. Drinks orders are taken and served, while one takes another day and a half to read through the prodigious menu which can be found on line. A complaint that our table had and we have noticed before in many other establishments, is that waiters rarely return to ask if another drink is desired. In our case, we started with a cocktail, and while finishing that, dinner was served but we were never asked about wine or other beverages. Yes, we could have signaled, but again, restaurants could add substantially to their profits with more drink attention.

Two at our table had French onion soup, topped with croutons and bubbling cheese. Along with the soup, one diner had an appetizer of avocado stuffed with shrimp, surrounded with fresh vegetables and it wasn’t skimpy. Nine large shrimp on a whole avocado. Two diners had the osso bucco, which is served two ways; one with a rich gravy over egg noodles and another in a mustard caper sauce. We opted for the pasta. Another diner had the ajo fish, and it was literally crusted with crunchy garlic and ever so tender and good. Without the discount, the osso bucco is $280, the appetizer was $75 and the French onion soup was $59. Along with drinks a large basket of fresh bread arrives. Prices tend to be higher than many other places, but it is worth it on those special occasions. From many appetizers, seafood, beef, poultry and game, salads, traditional Mexican and house specialties, your biggest challenge will be deciding. Did I mention the dessert menu? An enormous array, from flambes to crepes and everything in between to make the numbers on your scale go up a few notches.

Yes, it does feel a bit old world and of a bygone time, but let bygones be bygones. Get out your fancy duds, count your pesos and give yourself a treat. Feels kind of good to get out of those shorts and sandals, doesn’t it?

Casa Loma Restaurant,Gaviotas Ave. #104 , Gaviotas areas, 913-5398 , http://www.restaurantcasaloma.com

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Lunching at Los Delfines Restaurant in the Maria Coral Hotel

By Zoe Jussel (August 2011)

Hotel1 e1312393456778 Restaurant ReviewsWoke up to humidity of almost 94% with my brain shouting “let’s go to Stone Island and check out the new Maria Coral Hotel to swim and lunch. Now!” So off we went, my friend and I, gradually beginning to cool down after boarding the now $25 (each) panga ride to the island. We caught a ride at the dock for $50 (total),as the new Maria Coral Hotel is the last building on the island and a long jaunt down bumpy roads, halting for horses and riders around every bend. It’s an pretty walk along the beach from the dock too, if you are in the mood.

Looking at the pictures on Facebook, one expects a behemoth edifice rising to many stories, but in fact, when actually facing the hotel, it is rather small and comfortable. Welcoming, one might say. There is a winding staircase to the front entrance, which is also the Los Delfines restaurant and bar. Very elegant, crisp and inviting. It is a favorite during the busy season when the RV’ers head in, as evidenced by some of the online photos. The hotel, taking three years to build, is owned by a local family, with Adam Noronjo at the helm, and named after his daughter. He was also, very kindly our bartender (running to pick me a fresh mango for my margarita) and welcoming committee of one. The hotel seemed at first out of place after passing palapa after palapa, but once inside on the patio, or on a stool in the swim up bar, drink in hand, food order made, a comfort zone it is.

Restaurant1 e1312393377838 Restaurant ReviewsLos Delfines is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is 7-10 and the rest is served until 10 p.m. The pool closes at 9. The menu is fairly large with many appetizers, fish dishes, filet mignon and prices ranging from $120 for pescado empanizado to $230 for more complex dishes. We both had fish for lunch and the servings were commendable. Leftovers for another time, but perhaps that was due to the very generous and chunky guacamole for $55 and the large margaritas at $60. Other than one couple, we were the only ones there. There is room service all day and evening, and there are many activities available from the hotel that the staff is willing to organize for you.

Visitors are encouraged to stay and swim, use the facilities with an expenditure of at least $120. There are tables with umbrellas, loungers, outdoor showers and a pathway to the beach and ocean. We stayed most of the afternoon and then decided to walk back to the panga dock along the ocean’s edge and I would say it was far more pleasant than dodging (or not) the potholes and horses on the dirt road. Works up an appetite and then works it off. All in all, it was a very good day and nice to feel serene and private for while yet still able to hear the distant trill of a child’s laughter.

Maria Coral Hotel,Stone Island, open every day
01 669 981 9491  Email: mariacoralhotel@hotmail.com
website:  http://www.hotelmariacoral.com/

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

 

My breakfast at the mercado – Tony’s Burgers

You last read Bonnie Vela when she was on the Sinaloa gastronomic tour. After some brisk walks, swimming, zumba, yoga, and Pilates classes, Bonnie was ready to introduce her Texas friends to one of the best breakfasts in Centro.
By Bonnie Vela, July 1, 2011

One of the “must do’s” for my out of town guests is to experience all the wonders of the Mercado Pino Suarez in El Centro. My girlfriend and I headed out on a morning walk with the mercado as our destination. We were ready to kick start the day and eliminate our hunger pains at one of the many restaurants upstairs at the mercado. But my inner voice was telling me that the time was right to explore the small corner restaurants on the main level that had been catching my eye on several of my produce shopping ventures. We had fully intended to order a typical breakfast item, but after seeing all the locals eating tortas we quickly changed our minds.

Who would have thought a torta de pierna with french fries would land into my category of breakfast favorites? Well now I’m sold; minus the french fries. That is if the torta is from Tony’s Burgers. Oh what a fabulous find. I’m so glad I decided to give this little stand a try. The torta sandwich was large and plenty. All the ingredients tasted very fresh and delicious. Heck, everything’s right there in the market, so I’d be surprised if otherwise. For those not wanting a torta, they do serve up eggs any way you want, pancakes, bacon and we saw an amazing looking omelet being prepared.

Let’s get back to my torta. I had the pierna which is what I would call pull pork. My girlfriend had the shrimp torta. Both were served on a mouthwatering bun that was grilled followed by a nice portion of meat and topped with lettuce, tomato, onion and avocado. Jalapenos and other condiments were on the bar. My friend, Stephanie, and I couldn’t get a word out except….O’ My God this is delicious. So aside from eating and not talking we listened carefully to what all the other folks were ordering and checked out the plates as they were being served. Torta de Pierna was a popular dish but don’t hesitate to try the shrimp burger. That one is next on my list. The shrimp were seasoned, sautéed and the only thing binding this burger was Chihuahua cheese that was melted into the shrimp. It too was followed by lettuce, tomato, onion and avocado That’s second on my list – it looked fantastic.

You’ll find Tony’s by entering the southeast side of the mercado off Leandro Valle street. Montepio Casa Mazatlan is directly across the street from where you need to enter and immediately you’ll see Tony’s on the right. His booth number is B28. Tony has a corner setup where you can see him personally cooking everything right in front of you and a bar with seating that wraps around his small place. The menu isn’t what I would call extensive but it features pork, chicken, hamburgers, carne asada and shrimp which can be all can be ordered as a burger, torta or served in a tortilla. Prices are very reasonable. My meal, the torta de pierna, cost $25 and Stephanie ordered the torta de camaron which cost $42 –the highest priced item. They do offer a combo meal which is the torta de pierna, french fries, and 20 oz drink for $40. If you don’t have time to sit and enjoy a meal with the locals, call ahead and place your order; or place your order, do a little shopping and pick it up. Tony is open 7 days a week from 9:00 a.m. till 6:00 p.m. and offers home delivery. His phone number is 668 98 43 and he speaks very good English although his staff speaks Spanish. If you call, they will put Tony on the phone and he’ll be more than happy to take your order.

Tony’s gets rave reviews in my opinion. Hope you enjoy Tony’s Burgers as much as I do.

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Sensational Sinaloa food

By Bonnie Vela

Campos Leyson Me y Governor Mario Lopez Malova1 e1307393020361 Restaurant Reviews

Yours truly and our gracious host Governor Malova

Recently, I was given the opportunity of joining the Gastronomic Tour group, Aromas y Sabores in Sinaloa. Sinaloa is a long and narrow state that runs along the Sea of Cortes.  As in any state, food varies within its own region. I found that “inland” cities featured beef dishes while most “coastal” cities focused on ingredients pulled from the sea. Every stop on our tour was a unique experience. Some of our gatherings took place in restaurants, while at other times, we dined in courtyards of the Principal Municipal or in the gardens of Leyson Farm. Often, to accommodate our group, large buffets were prepared. The town of El Fuerte hosted our group in their Principal Municipal.  At this event, I was introduced to cauques. Cauques is a fresh water jumbo shrimp that has been butterflied, seasoned with spices, topped with a light sprinkle of breadcrumbs and then broiled. A fabulous dish; I now know that if I see cauqes on a menu, I will order it.

Cazadores Steak Carne Asada e1307393202627 Restaurant Reviews

Cazadores Steak

Cazadores Steak is an excellent restaurant, located on Lazaro Cardenas #317, in Los Mochis. The decor of wall mounted wild game and skinned furs, furnishings of large heavy wooden pieces and a beautiful bar made of stone and wood all worked together to create a rustic yet elegant atmosphere. As we sat down at our table dripping in white linen, a “family style”

Campos Leyson Oyster Bar e1307393437463 Restaurant Reviews

Campos Leyson – Oyster Bar

salad consisting of lettuce, tomato and red onions was presented, along with three types of salsas and a basket of chips. All three salsas were different. The hottest was the salsa verde. The red sauces were fairly mild, but full of flavour. The food bar was set high and I’m pleased to report it met all of our expectations.  Allow me to forewarn – portion sizes are huge. I had the carne asada served with potato slices, refried beans, grilled jalapenos and grilled onions. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal until I had a bite of caberia steak. Caberia steak is a cut from the loin “lomo” which is little thicker and a lot juicer than my carne asada cut. Prices range from $90 – $180, but remember portions can easily be split.

Quelites El Meson Posole e1307393705131 Restaurant Reviews

Quelites – El Meson Pozole

Machacas de res (seasoned dried beef) is seen on most menus throughout Sinaloa. It’s typically served au natural, mixed with eggs or Mexican style – sautéed with onions, bell peppers and tomatoes. Of course I couldn’t resist trying tamales, burritos, and quesadillas all infused with machaca, each with different sauces and seasonings. I’m afraid to mention another favourite of mine was the carnitas de puerco; pork meat that has been deep fried in its own fat. Don’t judge me before you try it. Once you do, don’t forget to thank me. Pozole soup was a common denominator among the buffets. It’s a mild hominy based stew. I understand why it was presented frequently; it warms the soul. The stew is made with white corn hominy, chicken stock seasoned with roasted onions, garlic, chilies and bite size pork cubes. Not spicy, just full of flavour.

Villa Union El Cuchupetas Ceviche e1307394096822 Restaurant Reviews

Villa Union – El Cuchupetas – Ceviche

Traveling south to the Pearl of the Pacific, that us, in Mazatlan, more seafood items appeared on our menu. Lots of restaurants have the word “mariscos” in its name, which mean “seafood”.  Expect to find these oceanic delights: oysters, octopus, crab, scallops, various types of fish and, of course, shrimp. Ceviches and agua chiles are very popular among the Sinaloa communities.  Both require ‘cooking’ seafood in lime juice – the difference is in the spices. Agua chile can be very spicy and for my taste palate it’s the perfect balance of lime, salt and heat. Ceviche has a hint of spice from the serrano peppers and is topped with diced tomato.  Seafood soups, sopas de mariscos, are a wonderful light, but filling meal. Fish is prepared anyway you want it. Dorado is a popular white fish, not too meaty and my recommendation is to select a large fish (to be shared with everyone at your table) have the fish butterflied and thrown directly on the grill. Delicious! El Meson Los Laureanos, in El Quelite, is  another restaurant suggestion. Only 33 kilometres, it’s worth the drive from Mazatlan, just to savour its breakfast specials from huevos al gusto (eggs of your choice), chorizos (spicy sausage), chilaquiles rojos to machaca de res. The average price range is $90. After your meal, stroll around the plazuela and don’t leave without buying the local caramel sauce. The caramel sauce tastes exactly like the “Sugar Daddy’s” candy I grew up with in Texas. O’ So Good!

Stunning arrangements Restaurant Reviews

And that sums up my Gastronomic Tour – O’ So Good!
(with special thanks to Sinaloa Tourism who invited MazatlanLife to join Aromas y Sabores. I’m thrilled Bonnie loved the deep fried pork; that’s why I chose her for this gourmet trip- she’s all about exploring, trying and enjoying the adventure.  SM- June 4, 2011)
redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Don’t cry for me Argentina

By Dakota Francis, April 29, 2011

El Bife

(Updated April 2012: Anne Heynen reports: “ El Bife is one of our favourite places. Eddy is the best waiter, in my opinion. I love their grilled vegetable brochette, also the asparagus appetizer. El Bife cooks the steaks exactly the way we like. Their French fries are perfection.”) (Updated November 2013: waiter Eddy, I believe has left the building. SM)

This reviewer always has the utmost best wishes for any restaurant that takes the chance and opens in a climate of economic difficulty and doubly so, when it’s a GOOD restaurant. Let’s take a look at Argentina’s offering.
We hope that El Bife has the muscle to hang in there until they have hooked the meat eaters in this city and once experiencing the fire grilled steaks, hooked they will be. We had the Churrasco also known as Argentine top sirloin, 14 oz, which was done to perfection with just a hint of pink in the middle and juicy tender. It was served with a choice of sides and we chose the baked potato. A small serving of chimichurri arrived with the steak and it was a perfect addition. A mélange (don’t you love that word?) of fresh vegetables also graced the plate. $145
The other dinner was grilled salmon with butter and lime and was reported to be perfect and tasty. Not overdone and also served with a side and vegetables. $135. Slightly unusual here for Mazatlan, was the attention of the waiters who came to our table several times to make certain all was satisfactory and that nothing else was needed. Often we dine out and after the meal is delivered, adios, goodbye, ciao.
Shortly after we were seated, a basket of warm garlic bread was brought to the table, covered with a colourful cloth. It was not the usual dry toasty garlic bread, but buttery soft and chewy. No shyness with the garlic, either, which suits us just fine.
There is such a variety of dishes on the menu from starters to finishers; chicken, fish, pastas, salads and baguettes, desserts that one can find just what they want, even if there is no yearning for a lovely piece of meat. We had a few chuckles over the menu with the heading of “torn overs” and “beef juice” soup. I also think I would tend to pass up the “small intestines cooked with milk”. The wine delivery is different for Mazatlan.  You can bring your own bottle for corkage fee of $90. Or select a wine from El Bife’s list and a corkage fee of $90 pesos will be added. The restaurant only adds $90 to the mark-up, instead of the usual doubling or tripling of the price. They are following a private club business model which is a welcome addition. The wait staff does need to be better trained on this explanation; it’s new to them and new to us.
If the attentive service and beautifully grilled meats are any indication of success, then that is just what we see for El Bife. Pssst! The restrooms are clean but be careful of the different levels.

A second visit underscored the enthusiasm of the first. Again, sitting outside on the comfortable cushioned chairs with the tables topped with pale blue linen cloths, we began with a generous pour of a red at $50. There is only one red and one white by the glass. Eyes (our own) rolled at the first taste of the fillet petit, 7 oz, charcoal grilled to perfection; possibly the best steak thus enjoyed in Mazatlan. As another side choice, it came with real hand cut fries and veggies. $155. Not many places offer a fabulous steak dinner for the equivalent of $13.

El Bife, Plazuela Machado, next to Beach Burger
Open: Tuesday 5 p.m. –midnight, Sunday until 2 p.m., closed Mondays
669 136 0436, Visa and MasterCard accepted

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

La Corriente. Hear the buzz?

By Dakota Francis, March 27, 2011

(Updated November 2013: there was no white wine, and one bottle of red wine. I just find the food so-so, the staff are happier talking among themselves but the setting is still wonderful!  I have friends that go just for the appetizers, beer and  sunset. They claim the apps. are excellent. SM)

This reviewer looked forward with great anticipation to trying this new beachfront hot spot and was not disappointed. It is our opinion that the buzz will shortly become a roar and the new place to see and be seen. Directly in front of the Hotel De Cima, to the right of the stairs leading into the lobby, is an underground tunnel, decorated in mosaics, which leads to La Corriente. No dodging fast moving cars, pulmonias and buses if you happen to be on the opposite side of the street. Of course, on the Malecon are stairs leading down to the restaurant, as well. We were happily surprised on arriving, to be greeted by a smiling Juan Manuel Serrano Ramos, former manager of B Gallery, who has accepted the position of manager at La Corriente. We were told that the restaurant was “officially” opening April 1, so the menu may be changing slightly.

What a fun and exciting space, with a large curved bar, several “rooms” all with a slightly different flavour and very reminiscent of what Diego’s has done in the Golden Zone. Wood bench seating with comfortable cushions, mid century designer chairs here and there, a wooden floor and interesting hanging lights that glow blue at night are all part of the ambiance. The views after dark are unbeatable as once the sun goes down, you have Centro to one side and the Golden Zone on the other. Valentinos can be seen changing colours in the distance. Large TV’s are planned, (personally, those we could live without,) live music in the future and a sun screened area. The music selection, while we ate, was at an acceptable volume and the music a soft rock.

The menu is different in a fun and playful way, but the emphasis is definitely on fresh seafood. Many fish dishes, interestingly prepared in the neighborhood of $119, tacos in a way you would never imagine, tostadas, various appetizers and drinks. The drinks alone, $50, are worth the price of admission just to read the names and ingredients although the wine pour is only 4 oz for $60. And this is for Carlo Rossi! We started with a California taco and a KiKi taco, one filled with a whole poblano chili, cheese and lovely sauce, while the other had melted cheese, chilies and a guacamole side. Along side of this was a fresh scallop tostada, with the scallops almost raw and sliced very thinly, topped with avocado and onions. We had the Pulp Friction martini, which was almost like a fruit slush with some chili pepper but ever so good, and a Negro Modelo. Two dinners and two drinks came to $180, which is a great price for great tasting food. Fellow diners were more than pleased with their selections, and we are all anxious to go back and try some of the fish dishes. We are excited to not have to drive all the way to Diego’s to get our groove on, and now have our own rising star.

To be fair, on another night of dining there, the experience was bit different. The staff was on the mark when we were first seated, but then disappeared with a distinct lack of attention thereafter. Our meal this evening consisted of 12 large peel and eat shrimp, fresh, succulent and delicious for $90, a fish dish served in banana leaves, very moist but cold when it arrived, as were the 4 interesting and well prepared tacos. Cold food, unless it is supposed to be, certainly takes the edge off a good dining experience. In conclusion, this evening’s diners were presented with the wrong bill. Because we like the location, the menu, (work on the wine) the views and the general feel of this new venue, we hope that the management gets the staff on track, trains them to explain the preparation of various items, and serves hot food hot. When all this is ironed out, La Corriente will indeed BE the hot spot.

La Corriente
Ave. del Mar #48, in front of Hotel De Cima
Accepts major credit card
Open every day 11-11, has “real” bathrooms for men and women

WineGlass e1300399660986 Restaurant Reviews

Gracias Italy, for many marvelous Mexican wines

By Zoe Jussel

Seventeen people gathered at a local Centro home that was host to a sommelier and his assistants, representing L.A. Cetto Winery. Founded by an Italian, Angelo Cetto, history says that Cetto started the wine business in 1930, bought a number of small wineries in the 1980, and now he is responsible for more than half of the country’s wine. Cetto cultivates 2,500 acres of vineyards in Baja California; also tequila and olive oil.

L.A. Cetto is one of the most renowned and oldest wineries in Mexico. In addition to the vineyards, L.A. Cetto offers gardens, a picnic area, wine tasting room, tours and they also have a tasting boutique in Ensenada. Today, with more than 75 years of tradition and quality, L.A. Cetto is without doubt one of the most important wineries in the Mexican industry; a total of 132 international prizes in France, Italy, Spain, England, Canada and the United States. L.A. Cetto is the Mexican winery recognized internationally; their wines being an example of the quality and the certainty of the Mexican art of making good wine. Three reds were tasted, ending with an unusual and dry Rosé, but it was generally agreed that the favorite was a bottle of Nebbiolo at $158. The wines ranged in price from $82, for a petite Sirah, to $240.

Oscar Gamero, manager of Cava del Duero, our “liquor store” on Avenida del Mar # 620, opposite the seal monument, confirmed the following prices and the wines are in stock. L.A. Cetto Zinfandel $82, Cab. Sauv. $82, petite Sirah, $82, Reverva Privada Nebbiolo, $158, Don Luis Cetto Merlot $149, Don Luis Cetto Concordia $ 166,Don Luis Terra $ 240, Angelo Cetto Reserva Platino, $750.00.

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

Red between the lines

By Dakota Francis, February 2011

(Updated November 2013: what a disappointment – this is suppose to be wine bar, but there was only a single bottle of cabernet sauvignon. No other wine available, cash flow problem? The burgers are made from brisket and it took my Mexican friend five minutes to explain to the cook to forgo adding breadcrumbs. The request was not met with smiles. Service slow, only four people there! – SM)

Rosso Nero
Rosso Nero, Italian for red black is not easy to package. Is it a wine bar? Is it a restaurant? It is trying to be a little of both and may eventually succeed but has a way to go. What cannot be faulted is the attentiveness of owner, Enrique Espinoza and his staff who met us at the door and had our table ready and waiting. Following a suggestion to try a French Cote du Rhone, Les Violettes at $450 a bottle, we at first thought it a bit weak knee’d but it soon began to fill out and was a very enjoyable wine to begin our evening. We followed that bottle with a more fruity Mexican wine, Casa Madero Merlot at $495. This wine was chosen after the waiter brought several to the table for us to see, but also after three that were asked about were not available. If Rosso Nero wants to be known as a premier wine bar, then it should be a certainty that wines on the menu be available and if not, the menu adjusted. It is evident that the owner knows his wines and is eager to share his knowledge, making it easier to try something unfamiliar. One can fall into a pattern here in Mazatlan, of drinking the same ‘ol, same ‘ol, and I can see this place being a perfect late afternoon stop to try yet another new wine by the glass. The wine list is quite impressive and varied.

We started our meals with a bruschetta topped with caramelized onion and salmon spread, which is slightly misleading as it is offered as Brusquetta de Salmón at $150. The quantity was impressive and the presentation appealing although I would have preferred paper thin slices of real salmon instead of the spread. One of the diners had the sashimi, at $150, which was fresh and tasty and although an “entrada” was enough for a meal. Another ordered the gorgonzola burger at $85 which proved to be perfectly done and an excellent piece of meat, however the gorgonzola never arrived with the burger. A small dish of gorgonzola was then produced; kind of a “cheesy” afterthought, if you ask me. Also, when the order was given, a request for the burger to arrive on its own without the bun was made, but it did indeed arrive with the unwanted bun. The hit of the evening was the huitlacoche and camarones pizza at $190. A perfect thin crust and ample topping with the huitlacoche giving it that distinctive earthy musky flavor. The menu consists of a wide variety of salads, paninis, hamburgers, rib eye, pizzas and desserts.

The interior of Rosso Nero is small but good use is made of the seating arrangements and the bar area is cozy and inviting, but of course with the requisite big screen television. The acoustics leave something to be desired and we did twice have to ask that the music be turned down in order to have a conversation without straining to be heard. This could certainly become a little jewel sandwiched between several other businesses in a strip mall near the Marina with a bit of fine tuning. The bathrooms are directly outside the front door and are clean and well equipped.

Plaza Bahia Marina,
credit cards accepted
Shopping strip on the right after the first bridge Tuesdays to Sunday from 5 p.m. for reservations e-mail Enrique Espinoza:
spinozza@hotmail.com

redpepper e1296600821198 Restaurant Reviews

 

Tags: casa garcia restaurant mazatlan, casa loma restaurant mazatlan mexico, diego ribs mazatlan, director eduardo munguia of companies in mexico @hotmail@yahoo@gmail.com, el presidio restauramt mazatlan/prices, el presidio, mazatlan, mazatlan mexico restaurants reviews, mazatlan restaurants reviews, ocean grill mazatlan, ocean grill restaurant mazatlan, presidio restaurant mazatlan telefono, reserve el presadio mazatlan, restaurant canobbio mazatlan, restaurant el presidio mazatlan, restaurant presidio mazatlan, runs, who's the owner of el aljibe de san pedro mazatlan sin



10 Latest Updates